OkNever: Part 1

If you haven’t seen it yet, a fabulous woman on Instagram runs an account called feminist_tinder, in which she directly responds to the trolls she encounters on dating sites.

Screen shot 2015-11-16 at 9.18.34 PM

I respect what she does, but I don’t believe in feeding trolls. I don’t want to waste my time engaging with garbage humans whose minds will not change no matter what I say. But, that doesn’t mean that I can’t post some of the worst messages I’ve gotten on dating sites and apps here for you!

I also don’t believe in making fun of socially awkward humans – I think these are so bad that any reasonable person could have known they wouldn’t succeed. The weird ones at least give me something to laugh about.

The explicit ones are the ones that trouble me. In doing Oknever, I wish to make you laugh as well as to highlight the harassment that young women face on dating sites. As a white-presenting woman, I don’t get half the amount of crap that women of color do, and we should all be terrified by that. We all would like to find love, and ideally everyone deserves to feel safe online. But, there is an unfortunate subset of humans who are the reason we can’t have nice things.

Allow me to introduce some of the scrubs of OkCupid.

A scrub is a guy who thinks he’s witty: 

Screen shot 2015-10-29 at 8.31.30 PM

And is also known as a “male feminist”*

Screen shot 2015-11-10 at 10.10.48 PM

*different than a feminist who identifies as male, who is exactly who I want to message me!!

Always talking about what he wants

Screen shot 2015-10-29 at 8.57.32 PM

But just sits on his boner

Screen shot 2015-07-10 at 4.45.15 PM

So no, I don’t want to buy a condo

Screen shot 2015-06-22 at 11.20.15 PM

I don’t want to marry you 

Screen shot 2015-06-27 at 6.51.32 PM

And no, I don’t want to “hangout tonight”

Screen shot 2015-09-01 at 10.04.38 PM

No, I don’t want your lame jokes

Screen shot 2015-09-01 at 10.06.47 PM

I’ll let TLC take it from here, but stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

