Teachable Moments: November 24

I help to lead an affinity group

for female students of color.

We discuss today

how privilege means

demanding

entrance

to spaces

to which one has no right.

 

Then

a white male teacher

opens the door

enters

with his two white granddaughters

paying no mind

to our meeting.

 

I think

that he taught here last period

and has returned

after school

to get something he forgot.

 

Instead

he says

that he hears we have food.

 

I wonder if

I should have gone to the boys’ soccer banquet last night

in my sweaty gym clothes

joined the coaches

male athletes

families

and asked for a second helping of dessert.

 

I feel lucky.

He taught them better

about what privilege means

than I ever could.

Leave a Reply

